Skip to content Skip to navigation

Getting Started on Sites: Remove Users Account Privileges

Let's say your co-worker left Stanford or the grad student working on your website is no longer here. I'll walk you through the steps to either remove their editing privileges or cancel their account.

After logging in the your website, navigate to the People page.  In Stanford Sites Jumpstart products, go to the Site Actions menu and choose Manage Users.

Remove editing permissions

  1. Find the User account and click the Edit link
  2. In the Roles section of the screen, uncheck any administrator or editor role assigned to the user.
  3. Click the Save button at the bottom of the screen.

Cancel a User's account

  1. Find the User account and click the Edit link
  2. At the bottom of the screen, click the Cancel account button.
  3. Now you have four options to choose from.  The recommended options are to Disable the account and keep its content or Delete the account and make its content belong to the Anonymous user.
  4. Select the method to cancel the account then click the Cancel account button.

Cancel account

Categories: